Skip to main content

Creative New Zealand

The Ministry manages the Crown relationship with Creative New Zealand - Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa, administering its funding and appointments to its Council, monitoring its reporting and performance measures.

Contact details

[email protected]

Tel (04) 473 0880 or 0800 CREATIVE (273 284)

Postal Address - PO Box 3806, Wellington 6140

Physical address is Level 2, 2-12 Allen Street, Te Aro, Wellington 6011.

Arts Council of New Zealand

All members of the Council are appointed by the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage.  Māori member appointments to the Council must be done in consultation with the Minister of Māori Development. 

Board Membership (expiry term in brackets):

Caren Rangi - Chair (March 2024)

Dame Hon Luamanuvao Winnie Laban (March 2022)

Michael Prentice (June 2021)

Roger King (September 2022)

Garth Callaway (June 2021)

Dean Whiting (March 2022)

Briar Grace-Smith (March 2022)

Janine Morrell-Gunn (September 2022)

Riria Hotere-Barnes (September 2022)

John Ong (September 2022)

Robyn Hunt (November 2023)

Kura Moeahu (November 2023)

Related links

Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Act 2014

Creative New Zealand website

Ministry for Culture and Heritage annual reports

Ministry for Culture and Heritage agency boards and nominations


Updated on 13th August 2021