Skip to main content

Public Media Advisory Group

The Ministry is the Secretariat for the Ministerial Advisory Group established by Hon Clare Curran, Minister for Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media. The Advisory Group will be advising the Minister on the establishment of a Public Media Funding Commission, and on the allocation of public media funding.

The Chair is Michael Stiassny, and the other members are Sandi Beatie, Josh Easby and Irene Gardiner.

Public Media Funding Commission will be a non-political voice advising Parliament on the state of the media and the resourcing needs of public media agencies

Further information is available at Public media advisory group established.

Any media inquiries should be sent to the Ministry’s Communications Team.

For other enquiries please email us at:

Submissions to the Public Media Ministerial Advisory Group

A selection of submissions to the PMMAG were published on 23 July 2018

Submissions to the Public Media Ministerial Advisory Group to 31 May 2018 [24.8 MB]

Mediaworks submission to PMMAG - 6 April 2018 [124 KB]

Stuff Ltd submission to PMMAG [142 KB] 

WIFT New Zealand members submission to PMMAG - 2 April 2018 [49 KB]

Release of documents to support Hon Clare Curran's announcement of public media funding allocation for 2018/19

Published 11 July 2018

Recommendations of the Ministerial Advisory Group on Allocation of New Funding - for release.pdf [1.38 MB]

Public Media funding allocation PWC report.pdf [3.75 MB]

Updated on 3rd September 2018