Skip to main content

Property Council announces Wellington Property People Awards

News: 23 September 2016

Property Council’s Wellington Property People Awards have been announced in a vibrant sold-out event in Wellington.

The Wellington Property People Awards recognised seven category winners and two highly commended awards at Te Papa tonight.

Wellington Branch president Mike Cole says Property Council is delighted to celebrate the people who are shaping Wellington through innovative building, design, and services to the industry.

“The Wellington branch was impressed with the calibre of nominations this year and we would like to congratulate all of our award winners, the passionate men and women who bring their immense experience and expertise to the industry.

“We tend not to make enough noise about our achievements in Wellington and these awards are the chance to highlight all the wonderful work being done. It’s an exciting time for Wellington with projects such as the movie museum and convention centre, and Transmission Gully putting us back on the national and international map.”

The evenings premiere award, the Greenwood Roche Wellington Laureate Award went to Maurice Clark, Managing Director of McKee Fehl Constructors Ltd.

Maurice Clark speaking at the opening of the Public Trust Office building in October 2015.

A well respected and experienced engineer Mr Clark has led many successful heritage and seismic upgrades around Wellington and is well known for his innovative engineering solutions to re-purpose existing buildings.

Exterior of the Public Trust Office where the Ministry for Culture and Heritage is located. Maurice Clark undertook extensive strengthening and refurbishment of this building.

“This award celebrates Mr Clark’s commercial courage, personal vision and success in saving many of Wellingtons old masters. These unique properties of significance, that link Wellingtons past commercial history to the present, required astute development and repositioning. Very few individuals would have tackled or taken this risk on.” says Bob Hall, Property Council Judge.

“I am very happy to be contributing to this wonderful city. This is award is a reflection not only of my construction and development expertise, but also my wonderful team.” says Mr Clark.

Property veteran Mike O’Sullivan received the Ortus International Long Service Award due to his outstanding performance in property and contributions to the industry. Mr O’Sullivan built a successful business valuing plant and property nationwide and is well known for his support and investment in the property industry over the past 20 years.

Colliers International Best Team for Regional Project Award went to David Jones and their project team, while Tennent Brown Architects received the Archaus Urban Design & Architecture Award, for

their work on the David Jones new department store design fit-out in the heritage Kirkcaldie & Stains building on Lambton Quay.

The Prendos Property Industry Associate of the Year Award was presented to Gwendoline Callaghan, Valuation Director for the Colliers International Wellington Valuation team. Ms Callaghan was acknowledged for her great work in raising the profile of valuers within the industry, through education, training, and mentoring.

Ian Pike, who has held various roles at Wellington City Council received The Momentum Outstanding Leadership Award. Mr Pike has been instrumental in initiating major waterfront projects including Waitangi Park, Meridian Building, Wharewaka, Clyde Quay wharf and the re-use of several heritage buildings.

The Beca Young Achiever of the Year Award went to Chris Speed a Senior Structural Engineer from Dunning Thornton. Mr Speed has been pivotal in resolving seismic strengthening issues for Wellington heritage buildings including The Woolstore in Thorndon and the Old Public Trust building.


Beca Young Achiever of the Year Award: Chris Speed, Dunning Thornton

Archaus Urban Design & Architectural Merit Award, Winner: Tennent Brown Architects for David Jones

Archaus Urban Design & Architectural Merit Award, Highly Commended: Huw Parslow for Boulcott Suites

Colliers International Best Team for Regional Project Award, Winner: David Jones

Colliers International Best Team for Regional Project Award, Highly Commended: Walter Nash Centre

Prendos Property Industry Associate of the Year Award: Gwendoline Callaghan

Momentum Outstanding Leadership Award: Ian Pike

Ortus International Long Service Award: Mike O’Sullivan

Greenwood Roche Wellington Laureate Award: Maurice Clark

About Property Council New Zealand

Property Council is a member-led, not-for-profit organisation offering a collective voice for the commercial property industry. Our members include owners, investors, managers, and developers of office, retail, industrial and residential properties, central and local government agencies and other property professionals. Our branches throughout the country represent some of the largest commercial property portfolios in Auckland, Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Wellington, Hawkes Bay and the South Island and Otago region, the value of which exceeds billions. We have an interest in all aspects of the built environment, and promote sound policies and requirements that benefit New Zealand as a whole.

Updated on 3rd October 2016