Skip to main content

New Zealand Composer wins Song Competition for Gallipoli Centenary

New Zealand composer Andrew Baldwin is one of the six winners in the Gallipoli Songs Competition.  From a total of 124 entries, the six winners of the competition marking next year’s Gallipoli Centenary were announced today by Radio New Zealand Concert.

The other winners are Australian composers Melody Eötvös, Martin Greet, Constantine Koukias, Peter McNamara and Aristea Mellos.

2015 is the centenary of the Gallipoli landings. To mark that event, Australia’s ABC Classic FM and Radio New Zealand Concert invited Australian and New Zealand composers to submit original compositions in their joint competition Gallipoli Songs. Composers were invited to set authentic Gallipoli texts to music.

Prize money of $5,000 per composition has been awarded to the six composers who best communicated the experiences of the original Anzacs and their loved ones. In addition, their winning compositions will be professionally performed, recorded and broadcast on Anzac Day 2015 in Australia and New Zealand.

The judging panel consisted of Australian soprano Merlyn Quaife, composer Elliott Gyger and Stephen Adams from ABC Classic FM alongside Kate Mead from Radio New Zealand Concert and New Zealand composer Dame Gillian Whitehead.

Kate Mead says, “The WW1 theme spoke powerfully to composers, who responded with compassion and empathy.  Selecting the six songs was challenging - with high levels of artistry demonstrated in the music, and humbling - witnessing the sacrifices of our forebears in song.”

A grant of $30,000 was generously provided by Australia’s Department of Veterans’ Affairs through the Major Commemorative Grants category of the Saluting their Service program to assist with running the competition.

For further info go to:

Updated on 23rd July 2015