Skip to main content

Tohu Whenua

Discover, experience and enjoy the places that have shaped New Zealand and created our stories.

Whether you’re a New Zealander or a visitor, you can gain a deeper understanding of who we were and who we are today by visiting Tohu Whenua sites.

Image of Kororipo Heritage Park, taken from Tohu Whenua's facebook page.

Tohu Whenua are places around New Zealand that matter to us.

Tohu Whenua acknowledges memories of the land, marking places made significant by our forebears and telling their stories.

Rich in historical or cultural significance, these places – and the stories associated with them – resonate with meaning. They provide visitors with memorable experiences, a sense of wonder and engagement, and authentic insights into New Zealand and its people.

Tohu Whenua link significant places through a series of regional trails that showcase their importance, while capturing defining moments in New Zealand’s story. They are the places and the people that have made us who we are – and offer you a sense of connection to this amazing land.

Featured areas include Northland, Otago and the West Coast - discover more at Tohu Whenua.

Tohu Whenua is a parternship between the Ministry, the Department of Conservation Te Papa Atawhai and Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. 

Updated on 27th February 2020