Skip to main content

Reappointments to TVNZ and RNZ Boards

Ministers’ release: 27 April 2018

Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media Minister Clare Curran has announced reappointments to the Boards of TVNZ and RNZ.

Dame Therese Walsh will continue to chair the TVNZ Board. Rodger Finlay will continue in his role as an RNZ board member.

“This Government firmly believes that a strong and informed democracy demands independent, original and free local media content,” said Clare Curran.

“I’ve told the Boards of both TVNZ and RNZ that it’s essential all New Zealanders are engaged, heard, and see themselves represented in New Zealand public media.

“I expect both Boards to keep developing modern, public digital media services that inform, entertain, and uplift because they’re vital to cultural diversity, artistic expression, and independence of thought and ideas. 

“Dame Therese Walsh is being reappointed for a second term as Chair of TVNZ.  She has provided clear direction and strong leadership to TVNZ and is a very experienced company director who currently serves on the Boards of Air New Zealand, ASB Bank and Antarctic NZ.’

“I am also reappointing Mr Rodger Finlay to the Board of RNZ for a second term.  Mr Finlay has provided strong commercial acumen to the Board and extensive governance experience. He has recently been appointed as the chair the Provincial Growth Fund’s independent advisory panel.

The appointment of a chair for RNZ is currently going through the appropriate appointment process.

Dame Therese and Rodger Finlay’s appointments are effective from May 1 and are for 18-months and three years respectively.

The Cabinet papers on these appointments are being proactively released and are attached.

Updated on 2nd May 2018