Skip to main content

Broadcasting Standards Authority

Broadcasting Standards Authority - Te Mana Whanonga Kaipāho

Established under the Broadcasting Act 1989, the Broadcasting Standards Authority (BSA) is a regulatory body that oversees complaints received on alleged breaches of broadcast standards.  Another agency, the Advertising Standards Authority  deals with complaints concerning advertising.

Advertising Standards Authority

The Ministry manages the BSA's relationship with the Crown on behalf of the Minister of Broadcasting, monitoring the funding agreement between the Minister and the entity.

Organisation Details

  • Chair – Bill Hastings
  • Chief Executive –  Belinda Moffat

Contact details

  • Tel (04) 382 9508
  • Postal Address - PO Box 9213, Wellington 6001
  • Street Address - Level 2, 119 Ghuznee Street, Wellington 6011

The board is appointed by the Minister of Broadcasting which consists of four members, one of whom must be appointed as a Chair. The Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister of Broadcasting appoints four members of the Authority. Its Chairperson is required to be a Barrister or Solicitor of not less than seven year's practice of the High Court. One member is appointed after consultation with broadcasters and another appointment after consultation with public interest groups.

Board Membership (expiry dates in brackets):

  • Bill Hastings – Chair (August 2021)
  • Susie Staley (August 2021)
  • Paula Rose (April 2018)
  • Wendy Palmer (Dec 2020)

Related links

Broadcasting Act 1989

Broadcasting Standards Authority website

Updated on 11th January 2019