Skip to main content

Heritage New Zealand

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

First established in 1954 by Act of Parliament, the later 1993 legislation prescribed the New Zealand Historic Places Trust’s work, powers and functions.  The New Zealand Historic Places Trust became an autonomous Crown entity under the Crown Entities Act 2004 which means that the Ministry for Culture and Heritage administers government funding to the Trust and it is accountable to the Crown for that funding.

In 2014, the New Zealand Historic Places Trust became Heritage New Zealand.  The new name is one of a number of changes included in the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act which completes the organisation’s transition from NGO to Crown Entity.  Heritage New Zealand is an autonomous Crown Entity under the Crown Entities Act 2004. Its work, powers and functions are prescribed by the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014.

Heritage New Zealand is the leading national historic heritage agency, operating in an environment marked by a growing interest in heritage, recognition of its social, cultural, environmental and economic benefits to our country, and awareness of its importance to national identity. 

Organisation details

  • Chair –  Hon. Marian Hobbs
  • Chief Executive - Andrew Coleman

Contact details

The Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act brings the structure of the re-named Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga in line with its status as a Crown entity. An eight-member Board was established by Ministerial appointment and the existing Māori Heritage Council was retained in its current size and form.

  • Hon. Marian Hobbs - Chair (June 2022)
  • Sir John Clarke (Nov 2022)
  • Chris Cochran (July 2021)
  • Kim Ngarimu (July 2021)
  • David Nicoll (July 2021)
  • Bryce Barnett (July 2021)
  • Materoa Dodd (July 2023)
  • Keita Kohere (July 2022)

The Board is assisted by the Māori Heritage Council which has the function to protect and register wahi tapu, advocate for Māori heritage and assist the Trust to develop and reflect a bicultural view when exercising its power and functions.  Members of the Council are appointed by the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage after consultation with the Minister of Māori Development and the Board.

  • Sir John Clarke - Chair (Nov 2022)
  • Patrick McGarvey (May 2022)
  • Kim Ngarimu (July 2021)
  • Dame Naida Glavish (June 2021)
  • Paul White (July 2021)
  • Liz Mellish (July 2021)
  • Chris Cochran (July 2021)
  • Materoa Dodd (July 2023)

Historic Places amendment toolkit

This toolkit has been prepared as a general guide by the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, aimed at former Historic Places Trust Branch committees looking to establish themselves as Charitable Trusts or Incorporated Societies. The toolkit includes guidelines for establishing a Charitable Trust or Incorporated Society, and funding options for heritage institutions.

This toolkit is online here.

Related links

Heritage New Zealand website

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014


Updated on 28th July 2021