Skip to main content

New Zealand Music Commission

New Zealand Music Commission - Te Reo Reka o Aotearoa

A belief that music has value, is essential to our national identity and that its success has a both cultural and economic benefit for New Zealand is the vision of the Music Commission.  Established in 2000,  the Music Commission delivers a range of programmes from New Zealand Music Month to the international market development programme Outward Sound and is committed to a successful music industry in New Zealand.

The Ministry manages the New Zealand Music Commission's relationship with the Crown and administers its government funding. The Commission is governed by a self-appointed board of music industry representatives.

As well as receiving funding through the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, the Music Commission is contracted by the Ministry of Education to deliver music education programmes in schools

Organisation Details

  • Chair – Victoria Blood
  • Chief Executive – Cath Andersen

Contact Details

  • [email protected]
  • Tel (09) 376 0115
  • Postal Address – PO Box 90-891, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142.

Board Membership

  • Victoria Blood – Chair
  • Greg Bonnett
  • Lorraine Barry
  • Jeni Little
  • Savina Fountain
  • Paul McLaney
  • Nick Atkinson
  • Ria Hall
  • Matthew Davis

Related links

New Zealand Music Commission website


Updated on 27th January 2021