Skip to main content

Sport New Zealand

The Ministry manages the Crown relationship with Sport New Zealand, administering its funding and Board appointments, monitoring its reporting and performance measures.

Contact details

Tel (04) 472 8058

Postal Address - PO Box 2251, Wellington 6140

Online contact form

Board Membership (expiry term in brackets*):

All members of the board are appointed by the Minister and the board will have between five and nine members including the Chair. When making appointments to the board the Minister must take into account the recommendation of the Nominations Advisory Group established under section 18 of the Sport and Recreation Act 2002.

Raewyn Lovett - Chair (June 2024)

Duane Kale - Deputy Chair (July 2024)

Dr Farah Palmer (June 2024)

Beatrice Faumuinā (December 2025)

Bill Moran (June 2024)

Suri Bartlett (July 2024)

Robyn Cockburn (July 2024)

Rakesh Naidoo (October 2024)

Karen Vercoe (July 2024)

*Members are subject to a rollover of their term under section 32 of the Crown Entities Act 2004.

Related links

Sport NZ website

Sport and Recreation New Zealand Act 2002

Ministry for Culture and Heritage annual reports

Ministry for Culture and Heritage agency boards and nominations

Updated on 9th August 2023