Skip to main content

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

The Ministry manages the Crown relationship with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, administering its funding and Board appointments, monitoring its reporting and performance measures.

Contact Details

[email protected]

Tel (04) 801 3890 and 0800 479 674

Postal Address - PO Box 6640, Wellington 6141

Board Membership (expiry term in brackets):

The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra Board must consist of not fewer than five members and not more than eight members.

Laurence Kubiak – Chair (June 2022)

Clare Murray (May 2022)

Edwin Read (May 2022)

Ainsley Walter (May 2023)

Carmel Walsh (Jul 2023)

Hon Chris Finlayson QC (August 2024)

Claire Szabó (August 2024)

Related links

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra website

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra Act 2004

Crown Entities Amendment Act 2004 (with amendments)

Ministry for Culture and Heritage annual reports

Ministry for Culture and Heritage agency boards and nominations


Updated on 1st November 2021