Skip to main content

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

The Ministry manages the Crown relationship with Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga, administering its funding and Board appointments, monitoring its reporting and performance measures.

Contact details

[email protected]

Tel (04) 472 4341

Postal Address – PO Box 2629, Wellington, 6140

Board Membership (expiry term in brackets):

Hon. Marian Hobbs - Chair (June 2022)

Sir John Clarke (Nov 2022)

Chris Cochran (Dec 2024)

Katharine Watson (Dec 2024)

James Blackburne (Dec 2024)

Puawai Cairns (Dec 2024)

Materoa Dodd (July 2023)

Keita Kohere (July 2022)

Māori Heritage Council - Te Kaunihera Māori o te Pouhere Taonga (expiry term in brackets):

Members of the Council are appointed by the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage after consultation with the Minister of Māori Development and the Board.

Sir John Clarke - Chair (Nov 2022)

Patrick McGarvey (May 2022)

Liz Mellish (Dec 2023)

Chris Cochran (Dec 2024)

Materoa Dodd (July 2023)

Puawai Cairns (Dec 2024)

Tom Roa (Dec 2023)

Ruth Smith (Dec 2024)

Related links

Heritage New Zealand website

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014

Ministry for Culture and Heritage annual reports

Ministry for Culture and Heritage agency boards and nominations

Updated on 12th January 2022