Skip to main content

Broadcasting Standards Authority

The Ministry manages the Crown relationship with the Broadcasting Standards Authority (BSA), administering its funding and Board appointments, monitoring its reporting and performance measures. You can lodge a complaint about any programme that has been screened or played in New Zealand on television or radio. Visit BSA's website for more details about their complaints service. The BSA does not accept complaints about advertising, internet content or programme scheduling. For complaints about advertising, visit the Advertising Standards Authority's website.

Contact details

[email protected]

Tel (04) 382 9508

Postal Address - PO Box 9213, Wellington 6001

Street Address - Level 2, 119 Ghuznee Street, Wellington 6011.

Board Membership (expiry term in brackets*):

The board is appointed by the Minister for Broadcasting and Media, which consists of four members, one of whom must be appointed as a Chair. The Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister appoints four members of the Authority. Its Chairperson is required to be a Barrister or Solicitor of not less than seven year's practice of the High Court. One member is appointed after consultation with broadcasters and another appointment after consultation with public interest groups.

Susie Staley - Chair (November 2025)

John Gillespie (May 2025)

Tupe Solomon-Tanoa’i (September 2024)

Aroha Beck (May 2026)

*Members are subject to a rollover of their term under section 32 of the Crown Entities Act 2004.

Related links

Broadcasting Act 1989

Broadcasting Standards Authority website

Ministry for Culture and Heritage annual reports

Ministry for Culture and Heritage agency boards and nominations

Updated on 14th June 2022