Skip to main content

Antarctic Heritage Trust

Antarctic Heritage Trust

The Antarctic Heritage Trust is an independent charitable trust that was established in 1987 for the purpose of conserving the legacy of the Ross Sea region of Antarctica by the first Antarctic explorers – Norwegian Carsten Borchgrevinck and British explorers, Robert Falcon Scott and Ernest Shackleton The bases of four expeditions (1895 – 1915) still standing in Antarctica today are conserved by the Antarctic Heritage Trust. 

In 2003, the New Zealand Government agreed to provide ongoing funding towards the Trust's operational costs to enable the Trust to free up resources to secure overseas funding towards its restoration project.

Organisation details

  • Chair – Mr Mark Stewart PJN (Kerhormat)
  • Executive Director – Nigel Watson

Contact details

  • [email protected]
  • Tel  (03) 358 0212
  • Postal Address - Private Bag 4745, Christchurch Mail Centre 8140

The Trustees which form the board are:

  • Mr Mark Stewart PJN (Kerhormat). Chair. Independent Trustee.
  • Mr Anthony Wright.  Deputy Chair. Director, Canterbury Museum.
  • Mr Simon Allen. Independent Trustee.
  • Mr Chris Seed. Chief Executive and Secretary, Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Trade.
  • Mr Andrew Coleman. Chief Executive, Heritage New Zealand.
  • Mr Roy Dillon. Independent Trustee.
  • Sir Brian Roche. Chairman, Antarctica New Zealand.
  • Professor Richard Bedford. The Royal Society of New Zealand.
  • Ms Linda Kestle. President, New Zealand Antarctic Society.
  • Representative from the Embassy of Ireland.
  • Representative from the British High Commission to New Zealand.
  • Representative from the Embassy of the United States of America.

Related links

Antarctic Heritage Trust website

Canterbury Museum website

Updated on 2nd December 2020