Skip to main content

Contributions to sport honoured

Sport and Recreation Minister Grant Robertson has congratulated all those sportspeople honoured in the New Year’s honours today.

“All the recipients have made invaluable contributions to a sector that is important to so many New Zealanders,” Grant Robertson says.

“It is a particularly great year for women in sport. Barbara Kendall has been made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit. Barbara won 11 world championship medals in board sailing before retiring in 2010. Since then she has represented New Zealand on the International Olympic Committee’s Athlete’s Commission and Woman in Sport and Sport and Environment Commissions.”

Other women recognised this year include Vaine Areora (netball), Luisa Avaiki (rugby league), Joelle King (squash) and Lydia Ko (golf).

“I would also like to acknowledge the contributions of Roly Crichton. Roly is widely known for his coaching, including of our most decorated Paralympian, Sophie Pascoe. But Roly has also had a very successful swimming career himself, picking up six Paralympic medals across the 1984 and 1988 games.

“Likewise, Glen Ashby has been recognised for his role as skipper and sailing team director for Team New Zealand during their hugely successful 2017 America’s Cup campaign, and for his long career as a sailor and coach.

“Sport plays such an integral part in so many Kiwis’ lives, whether it’s coaching at the local club or watching our heroes on the world stage. I’m thrilled to see this reflected in today’s list, which recognises people’s contributions across all levels of sport,” Grant Robertson says.

Published on 7th January 2019