This appendix provides information about statutory processes and terms of relevance to heritage in greater Christchurch.

Archaeological authority

It is unlawful for any person to destroy, damage or modify the whole or any part of an archaeological site without the prior authority of Heritage New Zealand, whether or not:

  • the land on which the site is located is designated, the activity is permitted under a District or Regional Plan, or
  • a resource or building consent has been granted.

An archaeological site is defined as any place associated with pre-1900 human activity, including shipwrecks, where there is evidence relating to the history of New Zealand that can be investigated using archaeological methods.

For further information see the Canterbury Earthquake (Historic Places Act) Order 2011.

CERA has established an agreement and consent process with Heritage New Zealand under which applications for archaeological authorities for CERA demolitions are processed urgently.

Disability perspective in recovery planning

Projects in the Heritage Recovery Programme will align with the New Zealand Disability Strategy, where relevant. Objective 8 of the Strategy is to ‘support quality living in the community for disabled people’. Owners should ensure public buildings and spaces are fully accessible to enable quality living in the community for disabled people.

District plan

District plans set out the framework for the management of land use and subdivision in a district.

District plans are prepared under the Resource Management Act 1991by the Christchurch City, Waimakariri and Selwyn District Councils. They define areas (zones) for residential or industrial activities, each with their own set of rules.

Listed heritage building

A heritage building scheduled on a District plan and subject to the policies and rules of that plan.

Section 38, Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Act 2011 (CER Act)

The relevant provisions are sections 3 (Purposes), and 38 (Works).

An historic place

An historic place, including a building, entered on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero compiled under the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014. Historic places are divided into Category 1 (places of special or outstanding historical or cultural heritage significance or value) and Category 2 (places of historical or cultural heritage significance or value).

Recovery plan

A recovery plan is a statutory plan prepared under the CER Act and approved by the Minister for Earthquake Recovery.

Treaty of Waitangi

Public sector organisations involved in the recovery of greater Christchurch take into account the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi. MCH has consulted with Ngāi Tahu in developing the Heritage Recovery Programme.

Updated on 23rd July 2015