Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority (CERA)

CERA is the agency established by the government to lead, coordinate and monitor the recovery effort following the earthquakes of September 2010 and February 2011. CERA supports a range of organisations in making well-coordinated and timely decisions. It aims to help restore the social, economic, cultural and environmental well-being of greater Christchurch communities.

CERA developed the Recovery Strategy that established the mandate to prepare the Heritage Recovery Programme, and helped to prepare the Heritage Recovery Programme.

Manatū Taonga/Ministry for Culture and Heritage (MCH)

MCH is coordinating the government’s earthquake recovery programme for arts, culture and heritage, and working with Sport New Zealand to coordinate the programme for sports and recreation. With other government agencies, MCH contributed to the overarching Recovery Strategy led by CERA.

MCH funds and monitors Heritage New Zealand – a contributor to this Heritage Recovery Programme – to deliver heritage services in greater Christchurch and throughout New Zealand.

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga(Heritage New Zealand) is a Crown entity. Heritage New Zealand’s work includes identifying heritage places, seeking to ensure their survival for current and future generations, and fostering heritage appreciation. In Canterbury, Heritage New Zealand is working with councils to provide advice on damage to heritage buildings (including structures) and character homes.

Heritage New Zealand leads or is involved in a wide range of recovery projects, including:

  • rebuilding the Lyttelton Timeball Station
  • repairing Coton’s Cottage
  • administering the archaeological authority process
  • providing heritage conservation and engineering advice on:
    • the Christchurch Arts Centre
    • the Canterbury Provincial Council Buildings (and coordinating some funding for these buildings)
  • providing expert heritage advice to:
    • CERA and its Christchurch Central Development Unit, including heritage assessments of the Christchurch Central Recovery Plan (the Blueprint)
    • territorial local authorities on district plans and applications for resource consents to demolish heritage buildings
  • providing expert heritage advice to owners and interested parties, including advice on:
    • relocation of heritage buildings
    • resource consenting issues
    • storage of heritage fabric retrieved from heritage buildings
  • providing advice to the CEHB Fund
  • providing temporary storage of archaeological finds in a secure location for owners
  • managing the National Heritage Preservation Incentive Fund
  • managing heritage input into the Crown land disposal process.

Ngāi Tahu

Ngāi Tahu is the iwi comprised of Ngāi Tahu Whānui; that is, the collective of the individuals who descend from the five primary hapū of Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Māmoe and Waitaha, namely Kāti Kurī, Ngāti Irakehu, Kāti Huirapa, Ngāi Tūāhuriri and Ngāi Te Ruahikihiki (as defined in section 2 of the Ngāi Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998). Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu is the governing tribal council established by the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Act 1996, which states that: Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu shall be recognised for all purposes as the representative of Ngāi Tahu Whānui. Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu is a key partner in the recovery of greater Christchurch.

Ngāi Tahu Papatipu Rūnanga are regional collective bodies that act as the governing councils of the traditional Ngāi Tahu hapū and marae-based communities. Every Papatipu Rūnanga has its own respective takiwā (area of authority), and each Rūnanga is responsible for protecting its tribal interests in its respective takiwā, not only on behalf of its own hapū but on behalf of the entire tribe. There are six Ngāi Tahu Papatipu Rūnanga whose takiwā lie within the greater Christchurch region. They are Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga, Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke, Te Taumutu Rūnanga, Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata, Wairewa Rūnanga and Ōnuku Rūnanga.

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu’s role includes:

  • strategic partner in the Recovery Strategy
  • partner in developing the Christchurch Central Recovery Plan
  • identifying sites of significance to Ngāi Tahu
  • owner of heritage sites
  • identifying opportunities to acknowledge Ngāi Tahu heritage in new development.

Christchurch City Council

Christchurch City Council (CCC), in collaboration with CERA, has a lead role in the recovery of Christchurch City. Its role includes:

  • strategic partner in the Recovery Strategy
  • partner in the Christchurch Central Development Unit and developing the Christchurch Central Recovery Plan
  • owner of heritage sites
  • providing expert advice to CERA and heritage building owners
  • administering the Heritage Incentive Grants Fund
  • administering the Central City Landmark Heritage Grant
  • providing expert advice to the CEHB Fund on applications for grants from the CEHB Fund
  • providing administrative support to the CEHB Fund
  • storing heritage material retrieved from demolished buildings
  • administering the District Plan and processing applications for resource consents to demolish buildings and for work to restore buildings
  • developing interpretive initiatives.

Waimakariri and Selwyn District Councils

Waimakariri District Council (WDC) and Selwyn District Council (SDC) work with CERA and other agencies in the recovery of greater Christchurch. Their roles include:

  • strategic partners in the Recovery Strategy
  • administering district plans and processing of applications for resource consents for the demolition of buildings and for work to restore buildings
  • developing interpretive initiatives. 

Updated on 23rd July 2015