The Ministry for Culture and Heritage (MCH) prepared the Heritage Recovery Programme working with: the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority (CERA), Ngāi Tahu, Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga (Heritage New Zealand) (formerly known as the New Zealand Historic Places Trust), Christchurch City Council (CCC), Waimakariri District Council (WDC) and Selwyn District Council (SDC) (‘the partner agencies’). Appendix One provides information on the partner agencies.

The Heritage Recovery Programme is based on a scoping paper, released in June 2012, which is available on MCH’s website. A wide range of heritage and property groups provided input to the scoping paper. MCH sought feedback on the Heritage Recovery Programme from property owners, heritage advocacy and property management groups in December 2013 to March 2014. The Programme incorporates some changes suggested in that feedback (see summary of feedback; PDF, 335Kb).

The partner agencies developed the Heritage Recovery Programme in accordance with CERA’s Recovery Strategy for Greater Christchurch (‘Recovery Strategy’), which is implemented under the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Act 2011 (‘the CER Act’). It does not override the CER Act or any other statutory requirements. While the Heritage Recovery Programme is a non-binding document, it sets out the basis on which the partner agencies will seek to achieve the heritage-related cultural goals set out in the Recovery Strategy.

Updated on 23rd July 2015