Skip to main content

Our work units

The Ministry is organised into three groups.

Manatū Taonga staff in front of Pipitea Marae in May 2018.

Delivery Group

Our historians, writers, researchers and advisers help make information about New Zealand history easy to find and create opportunities for New Zealanders to engage with their heritage. We look after monuments and war graves throughout New Zealand.

More about the Delivery Group is here.

Organisational Performance Group

We undertake the large number of activities that support our busy Ministry. These activities include communications, finance, human resources, information management and legal services.

More about the Organisational Performance Group is here.

Policy and Sector Performance Group

We provide policy advice to the government on arts, culture, heritage, broadcasting, and sports and recreation. We do this by working on policy proposals, legislation and reviews that are significant to the sector. We also monitor the government's interests in the cultural sector agencies who receive crown funding. We offer additional support through our appointments and governance service.

More about the Policy and Sector Performance Group is here.

In addition, the Office of the Chief Executive supports the work of our Chief Executive Bernadette Cavanagh.

Updated on 1st February 2019