Skip to main content

Appendix 3: Legislation administered by the Ministry

Manatū Taonga administers the following Acts of Parliament and Legislative Instruments:


Anzac Day Act 1966

Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Act 2014

Broadcasting Act 1989 (Parts 1–4 and section 81)

Cultural Property (Protection in Armed Conflict) Act 2012

Flags, Emblems, and Names Protection Act 1981

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014

Massey Burial-Ground Act 1925

Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Act 1992

National War Memorial Act 1992

National War Memorial Park (Pukeahu) Empowering Act 2012

New Zealand Film Commission Act 1978

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra Act 2004

Protected Objects Act 1975

Radio New Zealand Act 1995

Radio New Zealand Act (No 2) 1995

Seddon Family Burial-Ground Act 1924

Sovereign’s Birthday Observance Act 1952

Sports Anti-Doping Act 2006

Sport and Recreation New Zealand Act 2002

Television New Zealand Act 2003

Waitangi Day Act 1976

Legislative Instruments

Canterbury Earthquake (Historic Places Act) Order 2011 (2011/231)

Cultural Property (Protection in Armed Conflict) (Convention Emblem) Regulations 2013

Cultural Property (Protection in Armed Conflict) (Forms) Regulations 2013

New Zealand Flag Notice 1986

Radio New Zealand (Assets) Order 1992

Television New Zealand (Separation of Transmission Business) Order 2003

Television New Zealand (Assets) Order 1994

Updated on 27th November 2015