Skip to main content

2010 Awards in History Announced

New history projects including pre-Treaty cultural encounters, rural fire-fighting, and a history of an iconic Wellington gallery will receive funding from the New Zealand History Research Trust Fund.

The New Zealand History Research Trust Fund awarded a total of $100,000 to 12 recipients working on a diverse range of historical projects.

Announcing the 2010 awards Neill Atkinson, Acting Chief Historian, Ministry for Culture and Heritage noted that, “Ongoing interest in the First World War is reflected in awards to projects examining the social history of that conflict and the post-war assistance given to war veterans. Other projects look at the decades after the war, focusing on the 1920 Royal Tour, the 1930s Depression and growing up in interwar Auckland.”

The successful applicants for 2010 are:

  • Helen Beaglehole (Wellington), Rural fire-fighting in New Zealand – $8000
  • Trevor Bentley (Tauranga), Tribal guns, tribal gunners: New Zealand’s lost age of Maori artillery – $5000
  • David Colquhoun (Wellington), The Royal Tour of 1920 – $10,000
  • Stevan Eldred-Grigg (Wellington), The Great Wrong War: a social history of New Zealanders during the First World War – $10,000
  • Ian Grant (Masterton), Deadlines: New Zealand newspapers from 1840 to 2010 – $5000
  • Andrew Gregg & Stephanie Rowe (Wellington), A life of Leonard Cockayne – $5000
  • Malcolm McKinnon (Wellington), A history of the depression of the 1930s in New Zealand – $12,000
  • Vincent O’Malley (Wellington), Cultural encounter on the New Zealand frontier: the meeting of Maori and Pakeha, 1769-1840 – $10,000
  • Gwen Parsons (Christchurch), Turning soldiers into ‘Useful citizens and Wage-Earners’: Great War veterans and repatriation, 1918-1928 – $8000
  • Russell Stone (Auckland), Growing up in Grey Lynn: a memoir of interwar Auckland – $5000
  • Oliver Sutherland (Nelson), Paikea: the life and times of Ivan L.G. Sutherland – $10,000
  • Jill Trevelyan (Wellington), A history of the Peter McLeavey Gallery – $12,000

The Awards in History are made annually by the New Zealand History Research Trust Fund, and are administered by the Ministry for Culture and Heritage. The Awards are decided by a specially appointed external panel of historians with backgrounds in academic and public history. Since the Awards were introduced in 1990, a total of 1697 applications have been received and 245 projects have been assisted, amounting to approximately $1.935 million of funding.

The Awards are given to individuals or groups undertaking projects that will significantly enhance the understanding of New Zealand’s history.

Applications for Awards for 2011 close on 15 October 2010. Further information and application forms are available online at:

Updated on 23rd July 2015