Skip to main content

Winners Of Waiclay National Ceramics Award Announced

Cambridge ceramic artist Kate Burchett was named as the winner of the Waiclay National Ceramics Award 2011 at a function at Waikato Museum tonight (Friday, 2 December).

Judge and internationally renowned USA‐based ceramic sculptor Bruce Dehnert said Burchett’s work ‘Hot Rock Cafe’ was selected for its wow‐factor.

“On selecting the winning work, I’ve thought often of choreographer Martha Graham’s view that as artists we all hope deeply to hit the mark. Kate’s piece from the moment I saw it via the internet, as Hurricane Irene bore down upon us, wowed me with its finesse and multiple readings,” he said.

As the premier award winner, Burchett receives $2000 of prize money, sponsored by Heritage Gallery.

Other winners are merit award recipients Hamilton artist Duncan Shearer with his work ‘Albarelli Series 7’ and Dunedin artist Nicola McLaren with ‘Memento Mori 2’, both receiving $100 in prize money. Nelson artist Darryl Frost with his entry ‘Gone Fishing’ receives $750, sponsored by Waikato Society of Potters.

The winners’ works will be exhibited at Waikato Museum alongside the other 41 finalists’ and some of New Zealand’s most well‐known ceramic artists’ as part of the ‘Waiclay: Reflections of NZ Ceramics’ exhibition. All works are for sale.

Waikato Museum Director Kate Vusoniwailala said the exhibition adds another dimension to the Museum’s visual arts offering.

“The Waiclay National Ceramics Award and exhibition is an opportunity for Waikato Museum visitors to experience a different facet of visual arts and admire firsthand the skills and creativity of some of the country’s top ceramic artists,” she said.

The Waiclay National Ceramic Award is renowned for promoting excellence in ceramic art practice – attracting entries by New Zealand’s most talented ceramics artists. This is the fifth time the biannual Award has been held since its inception in 2001.

The exhibition was officially opened tonight and will remain on display until 27 May 2012.

Updated on 23rd July 2015