Skip to main content

McCully announces 482 PM's Sports Scholarships for 2011

Sport and Recreation Minister Murray McCully today announced the athletes, coaches, officials and support team members from 32 sports that will benefit from more than $4 million in Prime Minister’s Sport Scholarships in 2011.

The Prime Minister's Sport Scholarships help sportspeople pursue tertiary study or professional development while continuing to strive for sporting success. The programme is administered by Sport and Recreation New Zealand (SPARC), which receives applications through national sport organisations and the New Zealand Academy of Sport.

Mr McCully said the programme recognised the commitment made by New Zealand’s sports people.

“Coaches, officials and support team members use these scholarships to develop professionally while continuing to contribute to elite level sport. For the athletes, these scholarships assist those wanting to both train and study by helping ease the financial burden of doing both,” he said.

In 2011, 482 scholarships across 32 sports have been awarded. The scholarships are going to 373 athletes, 26 coaches, 56 support team members and 27 officials. This includes 46 applicants who have been short listed pending more information.

A total of $4.25 million is allocated in each year. Athletes receive up to $10,000 for tertiary fees and a living allowance of up to $2000 per six months while coach, official and support team member recipients can get up to $50,000 each year for up to three years.

This year’s recipients include Commonwealth Games 800m and 1500m silver medallist Nikki Hamblin, Paralympics swimming gold medallist Sophie Pascoe, rowers Hamish Bond and Eric Murray, sailor Jo Aleh, Silver Fern Temepara George, and rugby coach Todd Blackadder.

Award ceremonies will be held throughout 2011 in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin.

Updated on 23rd July 2015