Skip to main content

New appointments to Sport NZ Board

Sport and Recreation Minister Jonathan Coleman has today announced that Bill Moran, former Treasury Deputy Secretary, and Jason Shoebridge, Chief Executive of Kantar NZ, have been appointed to the Sport NZ Board.

“I am pleased to welcome Bill and Jason to the Sport NZ Board. They are both outstanding additions who will bring significant knowledge and experience to the Board,” says Dr Coleman.

Mr Moran recently retired from over 30 years at the Treasury where he was Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Secretary. He has had key governance experience as Chair of the Organising Committee for FIFA Under-20 World Cup NZ and Deputy Chairman NZ Football. He is a member of FIFA’s 2017 Organising Committee for the Confederations Cup.

Mr Shoebridge is CEO of Kantar New Zealand, and he has held a number of senior commercial and financial management roles in large corporates in both New Zealand and the UK. Mr Shoebridge is also a Director of Crown Research Institute NIWA.

Dr Coleman also thanked departing board member Bill Birnie.

“I would like to thank Bill for his excellent service as a board member and Deputy Chair over the last seven years. The Board has been well served by Bill’s legal and financial expertise,” says Dr Coleman.

Mr Moran’s appointment began on 1 September 2016 and Mr Shoebridge’s appointment commences on 1 January 2017.

Current board members Jackie Barron has been reappointed until 30 June 2018, and Darrin Sykes has been reappointed until 31 December 2018. Board Chairman Sir Paul Collins has been reappointed as member and Chair until 30 June 2018.

Updated on 8th September 2016