Skip to main content

Govt invests $3m in showcase for Lions Series

Economic Development Minister Steven Joyce and Sport and Recreation Minister Jonathan Coleman say the Government is investing $3 million via the Major Events Development Fund to showcase Kiwi culture, arts, innovation and hospitality during the DHL New Zealand Lions Series 2017. 

“This investment will help New Zealand and the seven host regions to showcase what the country has to offer and to capitalise on the expected 20,000 international visitors,” says Mr Joyce. 

“The Major Events Funding will ensure we’re well positioned for the Lions Series. Host regions will be able to showcase their attractions and industries, as well as receive the direct economic boost the matches will provide.

“The economic benefits to New Zealand when the British & Irish Lions last toured here in 2005 were considerable. Ticket sales totalled 355,000 and there were over 431,000 international visitor bed nights. There was also an estimated local television audience of over 3.5 million for the three tests.”

“Preparations are well underway for next year’s Series which will be the 12th Lions tour to New Zealand. It’s shaping up to be the biggest sporting event since we hosted the Rugby World Cup in 2011,” says Dr Coleman.

“The Government’s investment will also contribute to fanzones to enable the public to celebrate the Series and showcase our passion for rugby, which will further enhance New Zealand’s reputation as a major event destination.

“On the back of last year’s successful ICC Cricket World Cup and FIFA Under 20 World Cup, the Lions Series is another great opportunity for New Zealand to show that we’re an excellent host of major international sporting events.”

The DHL New Zealand Lions Series takes place from 3 June to 8 July 2017, and will see the British & Irish Lions play ten matches against New Zealand opposition in seven host cities, including three test matches.

The British & Irish Lions is a rugby union team selected from players eligible for any of the national sides of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Match schedule:



Provincial Barbarians

Saturday 3 June, Toll Stadium, Whangarei


Wednesday 7 June, Eden Park, Auckland


Saturday 10 June, AMI Stadium, Christchurch


Tuesday 13 June, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Māori All Blacks

Saturday 17 June, Rotorua National Stadium


Tuesday 20 June, Waikato Stadium, Hamilton

All Blacks

Saturday 24 June, Eden Park, Auckland


Tuesday 27 June, Westpac Stadium, Wellington

All Blacks

Saturday 1 July, Westpac Stadium, Wellington

All Blacks

Saturday 8 July, Eden Park, Auckland



Updated on 18th April 2017